Trekking to the medieval fortress Smbataberd and the Church of Tsaghats Kar

Trekking to the medieval fortress Smbataberd and the Church of Tsaghats Kar


Price From $30 for a group of 4 or more people

  • Tour Duration 1

We will meet at our scheduled meeting point in the morning and head to the medieval church of Khor Virap, the closest point to the majestic Mount Ararat. And from there we will continue to the starting point. Today we see the ruins of the Smbataberd fortress, which dates to the 5th century A.D. and is located on a mountain peak to the south-east from Yeghegis village. From three sides the fortress is protected by mountain steep slopes, which are additionally strengthened by high and wide pyramidal walls. It is possible to enter the fortress only from its northern side. During the time of its existance, they managed to capture it only once, and then, thanks to the tricks of warriors: mules were given salt and allowed to graze in the vicinity of the fortress. Thirsty animals, looking for water and smelling it, were able to recognize where the ceramic pipes through which water flowed into the fortress. By blocking the water, the enemies forced the defenders of the fortress to surrender.

We will continue our hike to the monastery complex of Tsakhats Kar. The complex consists of three buildings - the Church of the Holy Sign, the Church of St. Karapet and the Church of the Holy Virgin. The bas-reliefs of St. Karapet church reflect the coats of arms of the princely families of Syunik (IX-XI centuries).

At the end of our hike we will visit the Zorats Tachar church, built in 1303 by the Orbelian princes, and the ancient Jewish cemetery near the village of Yeghegis. The Jewish cemetery is owned by the Jewish community that lived in Yeghegis from 12-14th centuries. Contains tombs from 1266-1346. The grave markings on the Matzevahs (a Jewish memorial in the form of a standing stone) contain biblical works on religious themes and expressions from the Talmud. The graves also bear Jewish names of Iranian origin. The oldest, or one of the oldest preserved Jewish cemeteries in the world.

Hike will take 3-4 hours, with a set height of 526 m and a length of 12 km.Level of difficulty - average.

On the way back we will visit Noravank Monastery, a monastery complex built in the XIII-XIV centuries, on the narrow sloping gorge of the tributary of the Arpa River. The gorge is also famous for its steep red rocks.

Transportation service

Guide services

Excursion to Noravank and Khor Virap Monasteries

Entrance tickets

Our guide has a first aid kit

Spring water

24 hours customer service by phone

Insurance

Meal

Personal equipment

Personal medicines

Gallery

Social Share
Booking Form

Ready to Get Started?

Similar Tours

Ballooning

Balloon flight in Armenia

Read More

Треккинг к средневековой крепости Смбатаберд и Церкви Цахац  Кар

Треккинг к средневековой крепости Смбатаберд и Церкви Цахац Кар


Стоимость от 30 $ при группе от 4 человек

  • Продолжительность тура 1

Утром, встретившись в назначенном месте, мы направимся к средневековой церкви Хор вирап, максимально приближенная точка к величественной горе Арарат. И уже оттуда направимся к точке старта. Сегодня нас ожидают руины крепости Смбатаберд, которая относится к 5 веку нашей эры и расположена на горной вершине, к юго-востоку от деревни Ехегис . С трёх сторон крепость защищена горными кручами, которые дополнительно укреплены высокими и широкими стенами пирамидальной формы. Внутрь крепости можно попасть лишь с её северной стороны. За все время существования крепости ее сумели захватить всего лишь раз ,и то, благодаря хитрости воинов: мулов накормили солью и выпустили пастись в окрестностях крепости. Мучимые жаждой животные , в поисках воды и учуяв ее, смогли распознать где проходят керамические трубы, по которым текла вода в крепость. Перекрыв воду, враги вынудили защитников крепости сдаться.

В продолжение нашего похода, мы посетим монастырский комплекс Цахац Кар. Комплекс состоит из трех строений – церковь Св. Знамения, церковь Св. Карапет и церковь Св. Богородицы. На барельефы церкви Св. Карапета можно увидеть отображение гербов княжеских родов Сюника (IX-XI веков).

В завершении нашего похода мы посетим церковь Зорац тачар ,сооружённая в 1303 году князьями из рода Орбелянов и старинный древнееврейский некрополь близ населённого пункта Ехегис .еврейское кладбище, которое принадлежит еврейской общине, жившей в Ехегисе с 12-по14 вв. Содержит захоронения 1266—1346 годов. Надписи на мацевах (еврейский магильный памятник в виде стоячего камня), содержат библейские произведения на религиозную тематику и выражения из Талмуда. На могилах присутствую так же еврейские имена иранского происхождения. Самое старое, или одно из самых старых сохранившихся еврейских кладбищ в мире.

Поход займет 3-4 часа, с набором высоты 526 м и протяженностью 12 км.
Уровень сложности — средний

На обратном пути мы посетим так же монастырь Нораванк-монастырский комплекс, построенный в XIII—XIV веках, на уступе узкого извилистого ущелья притока реки Арпа. Ущелье так же славится отвесными красными скалами.

Транспорт

Проводник

Экскурсия в монастыри Нораванк и Хор вирап

Аптечка у проводника

Страховка

Питание

Личное снаряжение

Галерея

Поделиться
Забронировать

Готовы начать?

Похожие туры

В горы на снегоступах

Прогулка на снегоступах в Армении -туры одного дня

Подробнее