Ascent of Mount Ararat -5165(5137) m

Ascent of Mount Ararat -5165(5137) m


Price From $788 per guest (group of seven or more)

  • Tour Duration 7 6
  • August 15, 2022 - August 21, 2022

Ararat is the highest point of the Armenian highlands. This snow-capped dormant volcanic cone is located in the province of Igdir, 16 km west of Iran and on the border with Armenia. Unfortunately, the centuries-old Armenian symbol of holiness Ararat, passed under the protectorate of Turkey in 1921 at the whim and collusion of the Soviet authorities.

A smaller cone of 3,896 m (12,782 ft), Little Ararat, rises from the same base, southeast of the main peak. A lava plateau extends between the two peaks. The last activity on the mountain was a major earthquake in July 1840, centered around the Akori Gorge, a north-east facing chasm that falls 1,825 meters (6,000 feet) from the top of the mountain.

The traditional Armenian name for Ararat is Masis ( Մասիս). According to historians, it goes back to the name of the sacred mountain of Akkadian mythology Mašu - “twin”, which characterizes the two peaks of the mountain. Such an explanation correlates with the etymology of the name of the country Erkuaḫi (from the armenian erku - “two”), which was located in the region of Mount Ararat and was part of the ancient Armenian community Etiuni during the Urartu period.

Names: In many languages, except Kurdish and Turkish, the mountain is referred to as Ararat. In Armenian mythology, this mountain has always been the home of the gods of the Armenian sacred pantheon. But later, in Abrahamic religions, Ararat is the place where Noah moored the ark after the great flood. The Turks call it Agri Dagi (Mountain of Pain) and the Kurds call it ciyaye Agiri (Mountain of Fire), probably due to its volcanic activity.

History:

The first ascent to the Great Ararat was made on September 27, 1829 by Johann Friedrich Parrott, a professor at the University of Dorpat, accompanied by the following group: Khachatur Abovyan, an interpreter and guide, two soldiers - Alexei Zdorovenko and Matvey Chalpanov, as well as two peasants from the village of Akori - Hovhannes Ayvazyan and Murad Poghosyan

The mythology and mysteries of Ararat:

Mount Ararat has been the subject of attempts to find Noah’s ark for many years.In ancient times, climbing was considered a deed against God. Researchers have not stopped trying to find one of the most mysterious relics.

One of the first who undertook a search for Noah’s Ark was James of Nisby, who lived back in the 4th century. According to the 5th century Armenian historian Phaustos Byuzand (Byzantine), Jacob asked God to show him Noah’s Ark on Mount Ararat. When he “was already near the summit, he fell into a deep sleep, and in a dream an angel appeared to him and said: “Jacob, God has heard your prayers and fulfilled your request: what is at your feet is part of the ark. Take it and do not try to go higher, it pleases God.” Jacob woke up and saw at 4,350 meters, a piece of wood with traces of resin that could be evidence of Noah’s ark. He took it and set off with his companions on the return journey. This piece of wood to this day is kept in the Etchmiadzin Cathedral and a piece of Noah’s ark was given to Catherine II in 1768 as a sign of friendship between the two nations.

In the 1950s, the Frenchman De Navarre claimed to have found a piece of wood from the ark, but subsequent scientific dating showed it to be too recent.

Another famous ark finder on Mount Ararat was astronaut James Irwin, who set foot on the moon in 1971.

The story of Noah’s ark on Mount Ararat is an important foundation for the Christian world as well as for Judaism and even Islam.

Another mountain behind:

Ararat (5137m) is “one of the must-see peaks” in the climbers' piggy bank. It is considered to be the perfect starting point for getting acquainted with the High Mountains, as no technical knowledge is required for the ascent. Only willpower and confidence that you can and want to reach the summit.

For a long time, the Bible Mountain was closed. Then there were wars and exorbitant prices… But now we are glad to invite you to Ararat! It’s safe and not expensive!

A beautiful route, instructors with high altitude experience in the mountains.

There is no reason for refusing! You’ll be proud to tell about such a vacation and remember it with kindness.

Day 1 - Transfer to the foot of Mount Ararat

We will meet at the appointed place, check our gear and equipment, and the beginning of our interesting journey awaits us.

We leave Yerevan in the direction of Gyumri. After getting through the formalities at the Bavra checkpoint on the border, we enter Georgia. Then we will cross one more checkpoint on the border with Turkey. Along the way the group will be given the opportunity to stop for lunch at any place they wish. Our final destination for today’s trip is the town of Dogubayazet. If the group is interested, we can make a stop in the city of a thousand and one churches, Ani for a tour.

We settle into the hotel, take a little walk. In the evening - dinner, during which the guide will answer tourists' questions and tell about the travel plan. Dinner will be an opportunity for all participants to get acquainted. Overnight at the hotel in Bayazet.

Day 2 - Beginning of the ascent to an altitude of 3200

In the morning, after breakfast the minibus will take us to the slopes of Mount Ararat to the starting point of the ascent, the village of Eli, at an altitude of 2200 meters. The road from the town to the start point takes about 1 hour. Half of the road is covered with gravel. Here we take our light backpacks and start the hike to the camp at an altitude of 3200 m. Large backpacks, camping gear and luggage will be taken to the camp on horses. The length and the duration of today’s route is about 6-7 km and will take 4-5 hours of hiking. Lunch boxes and water will be provided in the camp, and in the camp you’ll have dinner with hot dishes and tea, carefully cooked by the cook. Overnight stay in tents at the camp at 3200 m.

The passage is difficult and necessary to tone up your body.

👣 The hike of 6 km. ⏳ The duration is 5 hours. ↑ The altitude is 1000 m.

Day 3 - Crossing to Assault Camp

In the morning we will warm up a little bit before breakfast, our muscles which are clogged up from the first day of the crossing. After a nice breakfast we will start the second day’s hike to the camp at 4200 m. We again take water, lunchboxes and other necessary things in our small backpacks. The heavy stuff will be carried to the camp on horses.

The route will be steeper and more tiring.We ascend to the assault camp, have a snack, communicate with tourists who have already been to the summit. Arrival at the camp in the afternoon. In the assault camp we make a bivouac and begin to prepare equipment. After an early dinner, the instructor will tell you about the safety rules, will check if you have packed everything in your backpacks and, if necessary, will give you crampons and will teach you how to use them. We go to bed very early.

The length and duration of the route on the second day will be about 5-6 km and up to 5-7 hours.

👣 5 km. ⏳ 7 h. ↑/↓ 950m.

Day 4 - Assault Day

We wake up at midnight, get dressed, have a light breakfast, turn on our flashlights and go out on the trail. On the way we meet the sunrise and see the shadow of the volcano to the horizon.

Most of the luggage will stay in the camp, we take with us only small backpacks for necessary supplies: water, snack, cameras, batteries, etc. The route will be even steeper and more tiring! Closer to the summit you will have to walk in snow, wearing crampons, the snow is often frozen and slippery. For safety reasons you should never deviate from the route.

The hummocks are replaced by huge stones, and towards the end there is a glacier. We would reach our goal in 5-6 hours. According to the latest measurements the height of Ararat Peak is 5137m, while earlier it was 5,165m. We will stay 30-40 minutes on top of Ararat. The pictures, the euphoria of the summit and the glitter in the paws. The endless expanses of the Armenian highland will open up before us. On a clear day we have a good view even of Yerevan! It seems as if we are on the roof of the world.

We go down to our tents, have lunch, pack up and start descending to Camp 1. The crossing will be difficult, on steep slopes with a significant drop in elevation, so be prepared for this. At the camp the mountain sickness will subside a little bit and we can celebrate, drink Ararat cognac for the summit, have a rest, have dinner and sleep. Overnight in camp -1.

Day 5 - Descent to Dogubayazet

We go down to the village of Eli and the transport takes us back to civilization. Warm showers, hotel, restaurant…) We will go on a tour to the ancient fortress of Bayazet and see the palace of Ishak Pasha. In the evening we will feast, taste local delicacies, share impressions, exchange contacts and photos. And full of new impressions we will go to the world of dreams.

👣 6 km ↓ 1150m

Day 6 - Reserve day in case of bad weather

Due to the fact that the weather in the mountains is always unexpected, we will have one extra day in reserve for unforeseen circumstances. However, if nothing else, we will enjoy extra excursions on this day.

We will go in the direction of Lake Van. Van is almost no different than the sea: huge in size, crystal clear and salty. Swimming there is a pleasure! We will visit Akhtamar Island, where there is the oldest Armenian shrine, Holy Cross Cathedral. We will also rent a boat for an interesting excursion on the waters of the lake. On the shores of the lake, we are still living in ancient times, mainly Armenians. We will buy delicious fresh fish from them, and they will cook it on the spot. In a word, today we’ll have a rest as much as possible:).

Day 7 - Going home

After breakfast, we drove towards our home town. From Bayazet we drive towards Igdir and the town of Tuzluja/Kohb. On the way we will stop near the Arax River, then reach Kars. If the group wishes, we can take a walk along Kars or Ani. From there we head for the Turkish-Georgian border. We will enter Georgia and then go through Javakhk region to the Georgian-Armenian border. When we arrive in Yerevan, we bring with us some of the highlights of our lives…

Alas, it is time to say goodbye. At this crossroads of life our roads will part. But years and miles will not destroy our friendship formed in the mountains. We will always remember our adventure and the company that shared it with us.

Until we meet again in the mountains!!!

Transportation according to the program

Guide service

Accommodation and camping equipment rental (tents)

Meals on the mountain

Drinks on the mountain

Horses for carrying the luggage

Insurance

Personal equipment

Personal medications

Meals outside the mountain

Transfer from the airport

Tips

Gallery

Social Share
Booking Form

Ready to Get Started?

Similar Tours

Diving and rock climbing in Egypt

Many activities in one place

Read More

Восхождение на Арарат -5165 м

Восхождение на Арарат -5165 м


Стоимость от 788$ на уастника (группа от 7 человек)

  • Продолжительность тура 7 6

Арарат – самая высокая точка армянского нагорья . Этот заснеженный спящий вулканический конус расположен в провинции Игдыр, в 16 км к западу от Ирана и на границе с Арменией. К сожалению, многовековой армянский символ святости Арарат, перешел под протекторат Турции в 1921 по прихоти и сговору советской власти.

Меньший конус 3896 м (12 782 фута), Малый Арарат, поднимается с того же основания, к юго-востоку от главной вершины. Лавовое плато простирается между двумя вершинами. Последней активностью на горе было сильное землетрясение в июле 1840 года, сосредоточенное вокруг ущелья Акори, пропасти северо-восточного направления, которая падает на 1825 метров (6000 футов) от вершины горы.

Традиционное армянское название Арарата — Масис ( Մասիս). По мнению историков, оно восходит к названию священной горы аккадской мифологии Mašu — «близнец», что характеризует две вершины горы. Подобное объяснение соотносится с этимологией названия страны Erkuaḫi (от арм erku — «два»), которая находилась в районе горы Арарат и входила в состав древнеармянского объединения Этиуни в эпоху Урарту.

Имена: На многих языках, кроме курдского и турецкого, гора упоминается как Арарат. В армянской мифологии , это гора всегда была пристанищем богов армянского сакрального пантеона. А вот позже, в авраамических религиях Арарат — это место, где Ной причалил на ковчеге после великого потопа. Турки называют ее Агри Даги (Гора Боли), а курды называют ее ciyaye Agiri (Гора Огня), что, вероятно, связано с ее вулканической активностью.

История:

Первое восхождение на Большой Арарат совершил 27 сентября 1829 года профессор Дерптского университета Иоганн Фридрих Парротт в рамках исследовательской экспедиции на Арарат в сопровождении группы: переводчик и проводник Хачатур Абовян, двое солдат - Алексей Здоровенко и Матвей Чалпанов, а также двое крестьян из села Акори — Ованнес Айвазян и Мурад Погосян

Мифология и тайны Арарата:

Гора Арарат была предметом попыток найти Ноев ковчег многие годы.В древности восхождение считали делом богопротивным.Ученые не оставляют попыток найти одну из самых загадочных реликвий.

Один из первых, кто предпринял поиски Ноева Ковчега, был Иаков Нисибийский, живший еще в 4 веке. Согласно армянскому историку 5-го века Фавстосу Бюзанду (Византийцу), Иаков просил Бога показать ему Ноев ковчег на горе Арарат. Когда он «находился уже близ вершины, он погрузился в глубокий сон, и во сне ему явился ангел и сказал: «Иаков, Бог услышал молитвы твои и исполнил твою просьбу: то, что у ног твоих, есть часть ковчега. Возьми ее и не пытайся идти выше, так угодно Богу». Проснувшись, Иаков увидел на высоте 4 350 м, кусок дерева со следами смолы, которое могло стать доказательством существования Ноева ковчега. Он взял ее и пустился со своими спутниками в обратный путь». Эта часть древа по сей день хранится в Эчмиадзинском Кафедральном Соборе.А вот кусочек от найденной доски Ноева ковчега в 1768 году был подарен Екатерине II в знак дружбы народов.

В 1950-х годах француз Де Наварр утверждал, что нашел кусок дерева из ковчега, но последующее научное датирование показало, что оно было сделано слишком недавно.

Еще одним известным искателем ковчега на горе Арарат был астронавт Джеймс Ирвин, ступивший на Луну в 1971 году.

История Ноева ковчега на горе Арарат является важной основой как христианского мира, так и иудаизма, и даже ислама.

Еще одна гора за спиной:

Арарат (5135м) — “одна из обязательных вершин” в копилке альпинистов. Ее считают отличным началом знакомства с Высокими Горами, ведь никаких технических знаний для подъема не требуется. Только сила воли и уверенность в том, что ты можешь и хочешь достичь вершины.

Долгое время Библейская гора была закрыта. , потом войны и заоблачные цены… но вот сейчас мы с радостью приглашаем Вас совершить восхождение на Арарат! Безопасно и недорого!

Красивый маршрут, инструктора с высотным опытом в горах .

Нет причин отказываться! О таком отпуске Вы будете рассказывать с гордостью и вспоминать с теплотой.

Хотелось бы подчеркнуть для тех, кто будет находиться на территории Армении за 3 дня до выезда на Арарат, предоставится уникальная возможнось аклиматизационного восхождения на вершину горы Арагац(включено в стоимость пакета).

День 1 - Трансфер к подножию горы Арарат

Встретившись в назначенном месте, проверив снаряжение и экипировку, нас ожидает начало нашего интересного путешествия.

Выезжаем из Еревана в сторону города Гюмри. Закончив формальности на границе у пропускной точки Бавра, вьезжаем в Грузию. Преодолев дороги Грузии, мы пройдем еще один контрольно-пропускной пункт уже на границе с Турцией . По пути группе будет дана возможность остановиться на обед в любом месте, где она пожелает. Наша окончательная точка сегодняшнего пути - это город Догубаязет. Если группе будет интересно, мы сможем сделать остановку в городе тысячи и одной церкви, Ани для экскурсии.

Поселяемся в отель, немного гуляем. Вечером — ужин-во время которого гид ответит на вопросы туристов и расскажет о плане путешествия. Ужин даст возможность поближе познакомиться всем участникам. Ночь в отеле в Баязете.

День 2 - Начало восхождения до высоты 3200.

Утром, после зазвтрака автомобиль/микроавтобус доставит нас к склону горы Арарат до точки начала восхождения ,поселение Эли , на высоте 2200 м. Дорога от города до точки старта занимает около 1 часа. Половина дороги покрыта гравием. Здесь мы возьмем наши легкие рюкзаки и начнем поход в лагерь на высоте 3200 м. Большие рюкзаки, лаерное снаряжени и багаж будут доставлены в лагерь на лошадях. Длина и продолжительность сегодняшнего маршрута составляет примерно 6-7 км и составит в челом-4-5 часов ходов. Для обеда в походных условиях будут предоставлены ланч-боксы и вода, а в лагере будет предоставлен ужин с горячими блюдами и чаем,заботливо приготовленный поваром. Ночлег в палатках в лагере 3200 м.

Переход сложный и необходимый, чтобы привести тело в тонус. Проводники в таких — народ веселый, рассказывают кучу смешных историй. Так что скучно нам не будет :)

👣 Переход 6 км. ⏳ Длительность 5 часов. ↑ Набор высоты 1000 метров.

День 3 - Переход до штурмового лагеря

Утром проснувшись, мы немного разомнем до завтрака наши забитые от первого дня перехода, мышцы. Вкусно позавтракав, мы начнем переход второго дня до лагеря на высоте 4200 м. Мы снова берем воду, ланч-боксы и другие необходимые вещи в наши маленькие рюкзаки. Тяжелые вещи до лагеря повезут на лошадях.

Маршрут будет круче и утомительнее.Поднимаемся в штурмовой лагерь, перекусываем, общаемся с туристами, кто уже успел побывать на вершине. Прибытие в лагерь во второй половине дня. В штурмовом лагере разбиваем бивуак и начинаем подготовку снаряжения. После раннего ужина, инструктор расскажет о правилах безопасности, проверит, все ли Вы упаковали в рюкзаки, при необходимости — выдаст кошки и научит ими пользоваться. Ложимся спать очень рано.

Длина и продолжительность маршрута на второй день составит примерно 5-6 км и продолжительностью до 5-7 часов.

👣 5 км. ⏳ 7 ч. ↑/↓ 950м.

День 4 - Штурмовой день

Просыпаемся в полночь, одеваемся, слегка завтракаем, включаем фонарики и выходим на тропу. По пути встретим рассвет и увидим тень вулкана до горизонта.

Большая часть вещей останется в лагере, берем с собой только маленькие рюкзаки для необходимых принадлежностей: вода, перекус, кошки, фотоаппараты, , батарейки и т.п. Маршрут будет еще круче и еще утомительнее! Ближе к вершине придется идти по снегу одев кошки, снег часто бывает застывший и скользкий. В целях безопасности ни в коем случае нельзя отклоняться он маршрута.

Сыпуха сменяется огромными камнями, а под конец начинается ледник. Часов через 5-6 достигнем цели. Вершина.Высота пика Арарата согласно современным измерениям составляет 5137 м., ранее считалось 5165 м. На вершине Арарата пробудем 30-40 минут. Фотографии ,вершинная эйфория и блеск в лазах. Перед нами откроются бескрайние просторы Армянского нагорья. В ясную погоду отсюда отлично видно даже Ереван! Кажется, будто мы на крыше мира.

Спускаемся к палаткам, обедаем, собираемся и начинаем спуск в лагерь-1. Переход будет сложным - по крутым склонам со значительным сбросом высоты, так что будьте к этому готовы. В лагерь горная болезнь немного отступит и мы сможем отпраздновать, выпить коньяка Арарат за вершину,отдохнуть, поужинать и выспаться. Ночь в лагере -1.

День 5 - Спуск в Догубаязет

Спускаемся в деревушку Эли и транспорт возвращает нас в цивилизацию. Теплый душ, отель, ресторан…)) Поедем на экскурсию в древнюю крепость Баязета и осмотрим дворец Исхак-Паши. Вечером закатим пир горой, отведаем местные деликатесы, поделимся впечатлениями, обменяемся контактами и фотографиями. И полные новых впечатлений, отойдем в мир сновидений.

👣 6 км. ↓ 1150м

День 6 - Запасной день в случае непогоды

В связи с тем ,что в горах погода всегда носит непредвиденный характер, мы будем иметь в запасе один дополнительный день на непредвиденные обстоятельства. Однако, если нам ничего не помешает, то мы в этот день насладимся дополнительными экскурсиями.

Поедем в сторону озера Ван. Ван практически ничем не отличается от моря: огромных размеров, хрустально-чистое и соленое. Поплавать там одно удовольствие! На озере мы посетим остров Ахтамар, где построена древняя армянская святыня — Кафедральный собор Святого Креста. Обязательно арендуем катер и поплывем на интересную экскурсию по водам самого озера.. На берегах озера до сих пор, как в древние времена , живут преимущественно армяне. У них купим вкусную свежую рыбу, которую они тут же на месте приготовят. Одним словом, сегодня отдохнем по-максимуму:)

День 7 - Домой

Позавтракав мы поедем в сторону родного дома. Из Баязета мы едем в сторону Игдира и городка Тузлуджа/Кохб. По дороге остановимся возле реки Аракс, затем доберемся до Карса. Если группа пожелает, можем совершить прогулку по Карсу или Ани. Отсюда едем к турецко-грузинской границе. Заедем в Грузию, далее через регион Джавахк к грузино-армянской границе. Прибыв в Ереван мы принесем с собой одни из самых ярких впечатлений нашей жизни…

Увы, пришла пора прощаться. На этом перекрестке жизни наши дороги разойдутся. Но дружбу, возникшую в горах, не разрушат года и мили. Мы навсегда запомним наше приключение и компанию, разделившую его с нами.

До новых встреч в горах!!

Транспорт по программе

Проводник

Проживание и аренда кемпингового снаряжения(палатки)

Питание на горе

Напитки на горе

Лошади для заброски багажа

Страховка

Личное снаряжение

Личные медикаменты

Питание вне горы

Трансфер из аэропорта

Чаевые

Галерея

Поделиться
Забронировать

Готовы начать?

Похожие туры

Дайвинг и скалолазание в Египте

Многообразие активностей в одном месте

Подробнее